H# B/114, L#07,DOHS Mohakhali, Dhaka.

Bangladesh Economic Zones Authority (BEZA)

Bangladesh Economic Zones Authority (BEZA):

Bangladesh Economic Zones Authority (BEZA) has been established by the Bangladesh Economic Zones Act, 2010. The main objective is to establish of 100 Economic Zones on 30000 hectares of land in the next 15 years with an employment generation for 10 million people.

BEZA aims to establish economic zones in all potential areas in Bangladesh including backward and underdeveloped regions with a view to encouraging rapid economic development through increase and diversification of industry, employment, production and export’.

BEZA is attached with the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) and is mandated to establish, license, operate, manage and control economic zones in Bangladesh.

The Governing Board is the highest body that undertakes overall policy decisions. It is headed by the Honorable Prime Minister with top-level representations from Ministries or Divisions of Industries, Commerce, Finance, Planning, Science and Information and Communication Technology, Power, Energy and Mineral Resources, Communications, Labor and Employment, Environment and Forests, Agriculture, Posts and Telecommunications, Foreign Affairs, Home, Shipping, and the Prime Minister’s Office including the apex chambers and private sectors.